Marty Scurll Interview

ROH’s Television champion Marty Scurll recently spoke to Sports Illustrated

A potential WWE move:

“Right now, I’m very much concentrated on conquering Ring of Honor piece by piece,” said Scurll. “The WWE has the largest amount of eyes on it and is the biggest wrestling company in the world. It would be a huge honor for myself to work there, but am I going to be given the same ‘Villain’ mic time? I’ve got a story to tell. Would I get that chance there? I don’t know. Yes, it would lead to more eyes, but will it be the character I want to get out there?

“I already started in Ring of Honor by winning the TV title on my very first weekend. That’s unheard of —Will Ospreay did it, too, but it doesn’t count because he lost it in his very first title defense. I won the TV title, I’ll win the tag team titles, and I’ll win the world heavyweight title in Ring of Honor.”

Finding Inspiration from Daniel Bryan:

“‘The Villain’ doesn’t really have any heroes, as such, but as someone I looked up to more than anyone else and was influenced by, it was the ‘American Dragon’ Bryan Danielson,” said Scurll, who has an opt-out clause in six months with ROH if he chooses to explore WWE. “Daniel Bryan is the reason I wanted to come to Ring of Honor. I watched all those years and saw his body of work in Ring of Honor, and it appealed to me so much. I was just in awe of his work. For me, he’s the best wrestler of all time. I wanted to follow in his first footsteps in order for me to become the best wrestler in the world and the best wrestler of all time. People might laugh at that, but I believe I can do it, and that’s why I’ve come to Ring of Honor. I’d love to follow in Bryan Danielson’s footsteps in Ring of Honor and go even further, then get knighted by the queen, which I shall do.”

Leave a Reply

